Viair Heavy Duty On Board Air.

viair-heavy-duty-onboard-air-system

Hello From Crucible Outdoors, let’s talk about the VIAIR HEAVY DUTY ON BOARD AIR SYSTEM pt# -10005. I installed my Viair system in my Xterra for several reasons: airing down and up on the trail, air tools, as well for future use with air lockers. This thing is awesome it has helped me out in a few situations. For example I was headed out to my friends bachelor party, about 30 min into the drive, Pop!  a tire gave up on holding air. No big deal right? Unless the spare is flat as well, and wouldn’t you know it that is exactly what I was facing. It’s 11:30 at night and I’m sitting off to the side of the freeway trying to solve my predicament. About the time I start getting my tools out to start fixing the problem, a Highway patrol car pulls up to check in on me. I don’t know if they do that all over the country but here in Utah they do. I start talking with the officer and removing my spare tire, He was the first one to notice it was flat. Being a nice guy he started trying to figure out a way to help me get off the road and into the next town. I grabbed the air hose and chuck, plugged it in to the tank, and started going to work. I am not joking but that officer walked back over to me and chuckled, tapped me on the shoulder and said “Man what else do you have in this thing?” Naturally I had to get the air wrench out just to show off a bit more. It wasn’t 5 min later and the Officer came back over and told me he had called off the incident management truck. Telling them I was more equipped to handle the problem than they were.

We have used mine on multiple trail runs in Moab, UT as well as just in the city helping people out. There was one time I was at a gas station and overheard a women asking the attendant if they had a portable air tank or anything to take across the street to her car. Their recommendation was to go buy a new tire and take that over instead. I walked up and volunteered to drive over and fill it up, ended up pulling the nail out and putting a plug to fix the tire. She was incredibly thankful and offered to pay me for my time. To tell you the truth I was just excited to use my compressor. Having this and some of the other things that are on an in my Xterra have really made me actively look for opportunities to help others on the road and I honestly enjoy doing it.

Here are the specs from the Viair website:

VIAIR’s Heavy Duty Onboard Air System is a pre-packaged compressed air solution that provides a faster 33% duty cycle 400C compressor, 2.5 gallon air tank, and all components needed to install a working system capable of inflating tires right out of the box.

Features:
– 2.5 Gallon VIAIR Air Tank
– 400C VIAIR Compressor
– 35ft. Coil Hose with Tire Chuck
– 1/4” Quick Connect Stud (F)
– 1/4” Quick Connect Coupler (F)
– Dash Panel Gauge with ON/OFF Switch
– Pressure Switch with Relay (110 PSI on, 145 PSI off)
– Reducer: 1/8” (F) to 1/4” (M)
– 1/4” 175 PSI Safety Valve
– 1/4” Drain Cock
– (3) 1/4” Compression Fittings
– 20ft. 12-Gauge Wire with Inline Fuse Holder
– 4” Strip of Continuous Grommet Material
– Accessory Airline
– Electrical Connections

Specifications:

– 12-Volt
– Permanent Magnetic Motor
– Duty Cycle: 33% @ 100 PSI
– Max. Working Pressure: 150 PSI
– Max. Amp Draw: 28 Amps
– Ingress Protection Rating: IP67

I love having mine in the rig ready to go for just about anything. However these suckers draw a ton of power. Due to this you absolutely need to have your vehicle running when in use otherwise you will be facing a different issue.

Read more about this system at Amazon and Viair  Website Here

Leave a Reply

